file ATMOS, DTS:X encoded audio: what's playing?

  • WayneWilmeth's Avatar Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
    • Posts: 4581
    • Thank you received: 7020
    • Karma: 15
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
WayneWilmeth Posted 1 year 10 months ago
#20662
Bro Rick,
Thanks for the good review. I wanted to ask, does your copy of Wonder Woman have an ATMOS soundtrack?
Mine did not. Moderator Dude said his had an DD 7.1, which is what mine always says when it is encoded in ATMOS. And I sometimes get an ATMOS logo at the beginning.
Anyway, I am guessing here that it did have but your Marantz did not play it as such, but (according to the Mod. Dude) it just matrixed an atmos approximation?
I was wondering what I might have missed. Now I got a 3D copy of the WW movie, and hope to put it on soon, and expect to see that DD TrueHD 7.1 that usually means there in ATMOS encoding. Not that I will hear it that way anyway.
But I have noticed that some of it comes through anyway even in JUST 7.1.
This one is well worth a second watching, I am especially looking forward to watching her in 3D!!!!! A good 3D film has a LOT more realism IMHO. [All my life, all around me, has always been in 3D]
Yes, the story was a bit of a stretch, but I have been watching much worse.
Enjoy, and hope you get it sorted out soon.
God Bless,
Wayne
God bless the child that's got his own.
The following user(s) said Thank You: rjohn79395

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Moderator's Avatar Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
    • Posts: 2778
    • Thank you received: 3177
    • Karma: 19
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
Moderator Posted 1 year 10 months ago
#20666
Sorry, yes, Dolby Atmos TrueHD.
The following user(s) said Thank You: WayneWilmeth, rjohn79395

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • rjohn79395's Avatar Offline school
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
    • Posts: 1903
    • Thank you received: 3880
    • Karma: 2
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
rjohn79395 Posted 1 year 10 months ago
Last edit: 1 year 10 months ago by rjohn79395. info_outline
#20667
Yes, the WW jacket definitely shows the audio format as Dolby Atmos. And when I scroll through the audio format options via the Marantz remote, Atmos is not listed, just Dolby Surround, DTS:x, stereo etc. The Atmos option has always shown up on Atmos tracks in the past, and is the default selection when available. So the firmware update must have “lost” the Atmos option.
Will pursue with Marantz.

Thanks!

Rick
5.4.4 HT speakers: T Ref fronts/LFE 1, SuperCenter Ref, T1 surrounds/LFE 2, HTR 7000 top fronts, Invisa 525 top rears
Zone 2 speakers; 2 Invisa 525's
AVR: Marantz SR 7010
Amps: AT525NC 5 channel, Parasound 275 v.2 stereo
Cable/TiVo, OPPO BDP 105D, SONOS Connect
47" Panasonic 3D smart tv
The following user(s) said Thank You: WayneWilmeth

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • WayneWilmeth's Avatar Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
    • Posts: 4581
    • Thank you received: 7020
    • Karma: 15
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
WayneWilmeth Posted 1 year 10 months ago
#20669
Hey Guys, am I right in guessing that ATMOS does NOT show up as an option IF your processor doesn't have the capability to decode ATMOS?
Because I have run several discs that I am sure have ATMOS but never once ever has that come up as an option, even when I see the logo.
So yes, Bro Rick, IF your Marantz is messing up, IF I am correct you will not see that option.
God Bless,
Wayne
God bless the child that's got his own.
The following user(s) said Thank You: rjohn79395

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • rjohn79395's Avatar Offline school
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
    • Posts: 1903
    • Thank you received: 3880
    • Karma: 2
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
rjohn79395 Posted 1 year 10 months ago
#20674
Hi, Wayne

My Marantz receiver has worked in the past as you describe. I.E. the Atmos option shows up only if an Atmos format is found/recognized. I would guess that’s true of most/all receivers. So, a receiver that doesn’t have Atmos read/play firmware wouldn’t “see” Atmos either probably. And therefore wouldn’t show it as a listening option.

Had a phone conversation with Marantz technical today. Their recommendation, if the new firmware isn’t finding/recognizing Atmos formats, is to do a factory reset, back to an earlier firmware version. If I can’t find another option, that’s what I’ll do. Hate to think about resetting everything though. :angry: But I do want my Atmos back!!!!

Rick
5.4.4 HT speakers: T Ref fronts/LFE 1, SuperCenter Ref, T1 surrounds/LFE 2, HTR 7000 top fronts, Invisa 525 top rears
Zone 2 speakers; 2 Invisa 525's
AVR: Marantz SR 7010
Amps: AT525NC 5 channel, Parasound 275 v.2 stereo
Cable/TiVo, OPPO BDP 105D, SONOS Connect
47" Panasonic 3D smart tv
The following user(s) said Thank You: WayneWilmeth

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • WayneWilmeth's Avatar Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
    • Posts: 4581
    • Thank you received: 7020
    • Karma: 15
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
WayneWilmeth Posted 1 year 10 months ago
#20676
Thanks Bro Rick,
That is what I was thinking, wondering.
My new 3D copy of WW clearly shows the Dolby Atmos logo on the package, but when I play her, it is not listed. In fact Dolby True HD 7.1 is not even an option, as it usually is.
Weird.
Guess that is the way these things work, or don't work as the case may be.
Hope you get your ATMOS back, I know you like it.
Course, this could just be the excuse you need to get rid of the Marantz and step up a notch in an important area. Ha ha
God Bless,
Wayne
God bless the child that's got his own.
The following user(s) said Thank You: rjohn79395

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: Moderator
menu
close
Menu
person_outline
arrow_back
You are here: Home Forum Advanced Topics Music, Home Theater, Gaming ATMOS, DTS:X encoded audio: what's playing?