file Safe volume for running T2s?

• Tetrall's Avatar Offline school
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
    • Thank you received: 69
  • arrow_drop_downMore arrow_drop_upLess
Tetrall Posted 5 years 5 months ago
So a quick question surround volume and amps.

I was wondering how loud you could run a set of T2 on Large with a 130w continuous at 8 ohms?

Kinda a subjective question for sure considering all the variables, and I never listen past about 83-89db peak personally, I find around 82 to be just right which wouldn't stress them at all, but for sake of discussion what's your thoughts?
Current System:

Projector - Sony VPL-HW55ES
AVR - Onkyo TX-NR838
Fronts - Triton 2s
Center - SuperCenterXL
Surrounds - SuperSat 3s

Ask me about espresso, I'm an expert at that... I'm just learning about audio!
The following user(s) said Thank You: WayneWilmeth, T Cobe

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• anthem's Avatar Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
    • Thank you received: 8498
anthem Posted 5 years 5 months ago
Last edit: 5 years 5 months ago by anthem. info_outline
As long as your ears can stand it and your amp can deliver the goods and sound good (no distortion) crank it up! I've run Emotiva xpa -1's 100-105 db with absolutely no problems, the amp will poop out before the T2's do. Most problems occur because of under powered amps driven at high volumes. When you hear distortion, turn it down 1-2 db. Listening in the 80-90 db range you should have no problems what so ever. If on occasion you feel the need to boogie (90 db plus) by all means crank HER up.
D-Sonic m3a-600m Mono > Decware Zen Torii mk4 > McIntosh MC152 > Emotiva xpa1 Mono's > Anthem Statement P2 > Primaluna ProLogue Premium Preamp > Morrow Audio > Oppo 205 > Decware ZLC > Triton Reference

Every great performance deserves an Audience!
The following user(s) said Thank You: WayneWilmeth, T Cobe

• Moderator's Avatar Offline
    • Thank you received: 3326